Checking in

Hello!

So, I was going to run a Dancing About Architecture film course, but then various things happened, namely me having no time because I was working full time on a general election campaign (for Mr Dylan Haskins) and also the place where I worked for nearly six years, the Sunday Tribune, closed so I had to deal with the whole job loss thing and get my shit together.

ANYWAY, now that things are a little calmer I’m currently working out dates for another Dancing About Architecture (free) music journalism course that will be along the same lines as the last one, taking place over four evenings in four weeks, and will hopefully evolve some what, including having some voluntary course work and field trips.

Once I have the dates down, I’ll let yiz know so anyone who wants to attend can add their name to the list and we can get going. In the meantime, if you’re into music journalism, what areas of the industry or topics would you like Dancing About Architecture to cover? Please add your suggestions in the comments.

Cheers,

Una

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Checking in

  1. Paul Hyland says:

    Ahoi hoi,

    Ok, while I appreciate how little this comment aids your request for course suggestions (as in, zero), I was wondering if you believe that this course would also offer something to people who have a broader interest in journalism/writing?

    Cheers,

    Paul

  2. unarocks says:

    Hi Paul,

    Yeah, there are general tips throughout on pitching as a freelancer, interview techniques, writing tips etc. It is specific to music journalism, but I’m sure anyone interested in journalism in general would get something out of it.

  3. Jessica says:

    Will this course be instructed by qualified music journalists?

    Are there any job opportunities for music journalists out there at the moment? I don’t really want to go to the effort of attending these if my prospects are slim.

    Thx,
    Jess.

    • unarocks says:

      Hi Jess,

      Yes, the speakers at the course will be some of the best music journos in the country.

      To be perfectly frank with you, there are F all job opportunities ‘out there’ at the moment, you have to make your own opportunities and this course will hopefully equip you to do that.

  4. Leon Byrne says:

    I am 29 years old & have just started a distance learning course with CTJT in Music Journalism. It is something I’ve always wanted to do but never really got into it. At the moment I am in full time employment but I am writing reviews/reports on all gigs I go to & sending them around to as many websites/magazines I can & hopefully someday I will be able to do this 100%. The Dancing With Architecture course will be great for me, I was disappointed I missed the last one. If you can go through how to get your work payed it would be great.
    Thanks,
    Leon

  5. Paul Hyland says:

    Hi,

    Just wondered if this is going to go ahead?

    Cheers,

    Paul

Leave a Reply

